Skip to main content

State Government: Oklahoma State Government

Governor Mary Fallin

Lieutenant Governor Todd Lamb

Top Stories in Oklahoma

Loading ...

State of Oklahoma

Oklahoma Fast Facts

  • Formed by the combination of Oklahoma Territory and Indian Territory on November 16, 1907, Oklahoma was the 46th state to enter the union.
  • The word Oklahoma is derived from the Choctaw words okla and humma, meaning "red people"
  • Quick Facts from the U.S. Census Bureau
  • Oklahoma has a land area of 69,919 square miles and ranks 18th in the nation in size
  • According to the 2010 U.S. Census Oklahoma's population is 3,751,351
  • Oklahoma has 77 counties
  • Oklahoma's two most populous cities are Oklahoma City, with 579,999 residents, and Tulsa with 391,906
  • The highes point in the state is Black Mesa in Cimarron County (4,973 ft); the lowest due east of Idabel in McCurtain County (287 ft)
  • Oklahoma ranks fourth in the nation of all wheat, fourth in cattle and calf production; fifth in the production of pecans; sixth in peanuts and eighth in peaches (Oklahoma Agriculture 2011 Overview)

Oklahoma Flag

State Seal

Oklahoma State Government Online

Oklahoma Services Online

This is a small portion of the online services offered by Oklahoma State Government. For additional assistance contact the AskUs Hotline at 918-549-7323