Skip to main content

Indexes for the TCCL's Map Collections in the Research Center: Floodplain Maps

TCCL's Research Center has numerous maps in their collection. These indexes will help you find them!

More Information about Floodplain Maps

Please visit our main Floodplains Maps site for more information about the Research Center's collection, or contact us.

Tulsa City Flood Plain Maps

The city of Tulsa has a number of flood resources on their Web site from flood safety to flood history to flood insurance.  But, they provide their widely requested Regulatory Floodplain Map Atlas on their site too.

We carry the paper version of this map and keep it back historically.

Another publication we carry in paper is the Tulsa Public Works Department's "City of Tulsa:  A General Guide to Regulatory Floodplains."  The city mentions this in their Flood Insurance site and we keep both current and historical releases of this title. 

Tulsa Federal Flood Plain Maps

FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency) has a Map Service Center online where you can type in your address to bring up the FIRM (Federal Insurance Rate Map) flood map for your area.  In addition to flood maps, they also have disaster and hurricane maps on their site.  This site is conveniently linked from the library's Government Documents Web page in the Flood Information Available @ Central Library page which has quite a list of publications pertaining to floods, many of which are online.

The Research Center does also have copies of the basic FIRM floodplain maps for Tulsa County in paper. 

Flood Information Available @ Central Library

The following materials are available for review at the Central Library 4th floor Research Center.  If an item is not available in print it is noted as online access only.

Maps

Maps are located in the Flood Map Drawers on the 4th floor

City of Tulsa Regulatory Floodplain Map Atlas
Effective date October 7, 1996.

A General Guide to Regulatory Flood Plains
City of Tulsa, Department of Public Works

Map Service Center--enter your address for a flood map

Back to top

 

Publications

Above the Flood: Elevating Your Floodprone House
Federal Emergency Management Agency, 2000.
Full text available online (pdf)

Answers to Questions About the National Flood Insurance Program
Federal Emergency Management Agency, 2004.
Full text available online (pdf)

Answers to Questions About Substantially Damaged Buildings
National Flood Insurance Program Community Assistance Series
Federal Emergency Management Agency, May 1991.
Full text available online (pdf)

City of Tulsa Flood Safety and Insurance Fact Sheet
Tulsa City County Library

Design Guidelines for Flood Damage Reduction
Federal Emergency Management Agency, December 1981.
Full text available online (pdf)

Directory of Tulsa Resources: Flood Protection
(Location: Tulsa Floods Vertical File)
City of Tulsa, Department of Public Works, 1999.

Disaster Public Information Catalog
(Location: Tulsa Floods Vertical File)
August 1995.

Elevated Residential Structures
Federal Emergency Management Agency, March 1984.
Full text available online (pdf)

From Harm's Way
City of Tulsa, December 1993.
Copies are available at regional branches as well as Central Library.

From Rooftop to River
City of Tulsa, May 1994.
Copies are available at several TCCL branches as well as Central Library.

Guide to flood maps : how to use a flood map to determine flood risk for a property
Federal Emergency Management Agency, 2006.

Homeowner's Guide to Retrofitting: Six Ways to Protect Your House From Flooding

Federal Emergency Management Agency, June 1996.
Full-text available online.

How to Use a Flood Map to Determine Flood Risk for a Property
Federal Emergency Management Agency, 1995.

Managing Floodplain Development in Approximate Zone A Areas: A Guide for Obtaining and Developing Base (100-Year) Flood Elevations
(Online Access Only)
Federal Emergency Management Agency, July 1995.
Full-text available online

Mandatory Purchase of Flood Insurance Guidelines
Federal Emergency Management Agency, September 2007.
Full-text available online

Planning for a Sustainable Future: The Link Between Hazard Mitigation and Livability
(Online Access Only)
Federal Emergency Management Agency
Full-text available online (pdf)

Protecting Building Utilities from Flood Damage
(Online Access Only)
Federal Emergency Management Agency
Full-text available online (pdf)

Protecting Floodplain Resources: A Guidebook for Communities
(Location: Tulsa Floods Vertical File)
Federal Interagency Floodplain Management Task Force, June 1996.
Full-text available online (pdf)

Protecting Manufactured Homes from Floods and Other Hazards
(Online Access Only)
Federal Emergency Management Agency, November 2009
Full-text available online (pdf)

Rebuilding for a More Sustainable Future: An Operational Framework
(Online Access Only)
Federal Emergency Management Agency
Full-text available online (pdf)

Repairing Your Flooded Home
American Red Cross, 1992.
Full-text available online (pdf)

Reducing Losses in High Risk Flood Hazard Areas—A Guidebook for Local Officials
Federal Emergency Management Agency, February 1987.
Full-text available online (pdf)

Unified National Program for Floodplain Management
Federal Emergency Management Agency, May 1994.

Back to top