Skip to main content

Genealogy Center: Additional Resources

Resources at the Genealogy Center

The Genealogy Center has vertical files with a variety of information on different states, significant historical events, Native Americans, and even some family surnames. For a listing of the documents contained in some of the vertical files, see the document attached below.

A compiled list of all Civil War Resources located at the Genealogy Center can also be found below.

Find a Grave

A national tombstone database, Find a Grave is updated by users and volunteers who have submitted information on the over 55 million tombstone records that are searchable by name.

Genealogy at a Glance and Quicksheets Publications

The Genealogy Center has a collection of QuickSheets and Genealogy at a Glance publications which can aid in your genealogy research, writing, and documentation.  QuickSheets, written by Elizabeth Shown Mills are guides for citing a variety of online sources. Accurate citations help others understand your work. 

 The Genealogy at a Glance series gives you lots of useful information in a concise four-page document  (which is specially laminated for heavy use).  Each guide provides an overview of the basic facts in a specific subject area.

 These publications are kept in the Genealogy workroom and are available for use in the library.  Ask at the desk to view them. 

Family History Center

Founded by the The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, the Family History Center contains more than 2.4 million rolls of microfilmed genealogical records and 742,000 microfiche. Access to the Family History Center website is free and provides users with a myriad of viewable records, including birth, marriage, and death records, census records, and much more.  

The Genealogical Society of Utah’s Research and Library System has designated the Genealogy Center an official Family Search Center, which enables the Genealogy Center to borrow microfilm and microfiche from the Family History Center in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Genealogy Center patrons researching their roots may borrow microfilm/fiche from the Family History Center for a $7.50 shipping & handling charge required by the Center. The materials will stay at the Genealogy Center for 3 months for the requesting customer to use during regular library hours.

Search the Family History Center Catalog Online

Once you have located the film you would like to order, you will need to create an account and order the film through the link below.

Online Film Ordering

Family History Research Wiki

National Archives

The National Archives contains records for military, land, immigration, and censuses. They provide resources and tips for getting started with your research and ways to order copies of their records for a fee. The main headquarters is in Washington, DC, but their are several locations around the country. The resources and records housed at each location varies and is usually based on the history of the region.

Map Index

Many maps useful to historical and genealogical research are located in the Genealogy Center (Tulsa City-County Library). This database is an index to the Genealogy Center’s Map Collection.

Searching the Database
Search by subject, state, or country. Records in the database provide the name and a brief description of each map and its location in the Genealogy Center. Two collections make up this database. Maps located in the Map Cabinet are assigned drawer numbers. Maps located in the Bette Riddle Collection are designated with BRC as their location.

All materials located in the Genealogy Center are for in-library use only. The index is still being compiled and records continue to be added to the database. If you do not find the map you seek in the database or have any questions about the Map Collection, please contact the Genealogy Center by telephone, 918-549-7691, or email.

Searchable Map Index

USGenWeb

Volunteers from all over the country host county websites, transcribe data (like cemetery lists) and scan and upload documents (map, etc.). USGenWeb is organized by state and county. The links found on this site will connect you with the state and county genealogy websites.

Vital Records

States are listed alphabetically on the CDC's Vital Records page, which tells you where to write for copies of birth, marriage, divorce, and death records. A fee is charged for receiving a copy of these records, and the name and date of the event are both required to find the appropriate document.

Chronicling America-Library of Congress

Chronicling America is a website providing access to select digitized newspaper pages, including early issues of the Tulsa World. It is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program and a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/