Skip to main content

Genealogy Center: Local Resources

Tulsa Newspaper Death Notice Index

The Death Notice Index is a database listing the dates of death notices that have appeared in the Tulsa World and Tulsa Tribune. A death notice is not an obituary, as it will only give the person's name, age, occupation (if known), and location and time of services. Obituaries are classified ads, so they are not indexed. The Central Library has both the Tulsa World and Tulsa Tribune on microfilm at the Annex. Copies or scans can be made from the microfilm.

The Death Notice Index contains the name of the person and the date the death notice appeared in the newspaper, covering the years 1963-1990 in the Tulsa World.

Sometimes, the name you are searching for is not listed. It may help to try a different spelling of the person’s last name. There are many different ways to spell certain names, such as Lewis, Louis, Luis, or Stevens, Stephens, or Elliott, Elliot, Eliott, Eliot. If you are uncertain of the spelling of a last name, put the first few letters of a last name, such as ‘She’, which will bring up names from Shea to Shewmaker.

Occasionally, there are articles about deaths and death notices do not appear in the newspapers. In those cases, the dates and/or page numbers of the articles appear in the index.

For death notices from 1989 to the present, library customers with a valid library card can visit their neighborhood library and search the Tulsa World online via a library subscription service.

For any questions regarding the Death Notice Index, please contact the Research Center at 549-7420 or send an email.

Begin Searching

Tulsa County Resources in the Genealogy Center

Cemeteries and Death Records

  • Clinton Oaks Cemetery binder kept behind reference desk.
  • Collinsville’s Oldest Cemetery, Old North Cemetery, Collinsville, OK in vertical file envelope Oklahoma, Collinsville Cemetery.
  • Deaths copied from the Bixby Bulletin. (Includes Snake Creek Cemetery-African American Cemetery) in black binder behind desk.
  • Funeral Home Records City of Tulsa.
  • Includes the following funeral homes and years: Moore’s Funeral Home 1927-1971, Moore’s Memory Chapel 1973-1980, Moore’s Eastlawn 1966-1980, Nine’s Funeral Home 1917-1980, Whisenhunt’s Funeral Home 1929-1980, Stanley’s Funeral Home 1909-1981. 929.376686 F963 1989.
  • An alphabetical name index to the Funeral Home Records is online at Tulsa Genealogical Society Website.
  • History of Some Tulsa City Cemeteries (not a listing of persons), articles about Clinton Oaks, Oaklawn, earliest Tulsa cemetery; in vertical file Oklahoma, Tulsa County, Tulsa Cemeteries.
  • Oaklawn Cemetery Report binder kept behind the reference desk.
  • Oklahoma Green Country Cemeteries , compiled by Broken Arrow Genealogical Society. 929.509766 O41, V. 1 includes Park Grove, Bruner, Carr, Creek Freedmen, Hawkins, Jackson Grove, Kelley, McHenry, Odd Fellows, Shahan, Simmons, White Cemeteries .
  • Prairie Gardens/Duck Creek Cemetery by Katherine LaBass for Bixby Historical Society. 2000. In red folder behind desk.
  • Registry of the White Church Cemetery of Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, in vertical file envelope Oklahoma: Broken Arrow White Church Cemetery.
  • Rose Hill Cemetery on Genealogy CD Rom Database Computer.
  • Shadows of the Past: Tombstone Inscriptions in Tulsa County, Oklahoma includes Bixby (Bixby), Blakemore (Owasso), Booker T. Washington (Tulsa), Charley (Sperry), Chisholm (Sperry), Clinton Oaks (Tulsa), Community (Rentie Grove-Tulsa), Crown Hill (Tulsa), Duck Creek (Liberty Mounds), Fairview (Owasso), Grayson (Tulsa), Harlow (N. Tulsa), Hillside Mission (Skiatook), Indian Territory (Tulsa), Leonard (Leonard), Lord (Owasso), Old Skiatook (Skiatook), Parkgrove (Broken Arrow), Perryman (Tulsa), Pleasant Porter (Leonard), Post Oak (Sand Springs), Sanger (Bixby), Snake Creek (Leonard), Spybuck (Sperry), Victory (Collinsville), Wekiwa (Keystone Dam), Tullahasse (Sand Springs), Rock Creek (Sand Springs), McCoy (Leonard), White Church (Broken Arrow), Twin Mounds (Glenpool), Oaklawn (Tulsa). 929.50976686 S524.
  • Tulsa County Cemeteries includes Duck Creek (Liberty Mounds)in Jenks, Covey and Twin Mounds. Burials from 1911. 929.376686 T829.
  • Twin Mounds Pioneer Cemetery, Tulsa World article, undated. In vertical file Oklahoma, Twin Mounds.
  • Cemeteries of Tulsa, County, Oklahoma includes many complete or partial internment indexes as well as directions to the cemeteries.

Chronicles of Oklahoma

  • Contains various articles about the history of Oklahoma. Portions online at Chronicles of Oklahoma Online. Portions also available on microfilm and bound copies in book collection. Indexed. 976.6 C4681

Churches

  • First Methodist Church Membership Directory 1958. Tulsa’s Methodist Cathedral at 11 th and Boulder, in vertical file envelope Oklahoma: Assorted information pamphlets.
  • Registry of the White Church Cemetery of Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, in vertical file envelope Oklahoma: Broken Arrow White Church Cemetery.

Cities and Towns

Bixby:

  • Early Pioneers of Bixby, Oklahoma copied from The Bixby Bulletin by Katherine LaBass for the Bixby Historical Society. 2000. In black binder behind desk.

Broken Arrow:

  • Broken Arrow Hall of Fame 1990 (Five Notable Pioneers); Broken Arrow Genealogical Society; pamphlet in Oklahoma, Tulsa County BA Hall of Fame.
  • Broken Arrow Hall of Fame 1991 (Six Community Developers); Broken Arrow Genealogical Society; pamphlet in vertical file Oklahoma, Tulsa County BA Hall of Fame.
  • Broken Arrow, Tulsa County, OK and Adjoining Tow nships (Boles, Fry, Lynn Lane and Willow Springs), 1910 Federal Census, published by the Broken Arrow Genealogical Society 1993; in vertical file, Oklahoma Broken Arrow.
  • First Census (1904) of Broken Arrow, Oklahoma by Don Wise (article about the census), in vertical file envelope Oklahoma: Broken Arrow First Census.
  • History of Scout Troop 104, Broken Arrow, Ok; Donald A. Wise, 1991; in vertical file Oklahoma, Tulsa County BA Hall of Fame and History of Scouting..

Glenpool:

  • Glenpool and a Little Town of Yesteryear by Frank Galbreath. 976.686 G131g 1978.
  • Misc.
    The Beginning of the International Petroleum Exposition and Congress, Fred. S. Clinton, FACS, Reprinted from The Chronicles of Oklahoma, Vol. XXVI, No. 4, Winter 1948-1949 ( Oklahoma City: Oklahoma Historical Society) in vertical file, folder titled Oklahoma Cities and Towns Information Pamphlets.

Jenks:

  • Jenks and Tulsa Street Names, Jenks Gazette May – June 1999; in vertical file Oklahoma, Jenks and Tulsa Street Names.

Skiatook:

  • Early Day Families of Hillside Mission School, Skiatook, Ok; reunion September 12, 1976. Willis C. “Ted” Haddock; in vertical file Oklahoma, Tulsa County, Skiatook Early Day Families.
  • Skiatook 1872-1921, compiled and edited by C.H. Cleveland and G.B. Epperson. 976.6 C59 1921.

Sand Springs:

  • Greater Sand Springs, A History of Sand Springs; published by The Sand Springs Leader, Summer 1998, in vertical file envelope Oklahoma, Sand Springs.
  • Unto the Least of These, In Memory of Charles Page, Founder of Sand Springs Home; Josephine T. Hughes, in vertical file envelope Oklahoma, Sand Springs.

Tulsa:

  • The Beginning of Tulsa by J.M. Hall. 976.686 H14a 1933.
  • The Early History of Southwest Tulsa, early towns RedFork, Oakhurst, Garden City, South Haven, Carbondale, Berryhill; Tulsa Preservation Commission, City of Tulsa Urban Development Department, September 1996; booklet in vertical file Oklahoma, Tulsa County, Tulsa City of, Southwest Area.
  • City in the Osage Hills, Tulsa Oklahoma by Courtney Ann and Glen Vaughn-Roberson. 976.686 V465c 1984.
  • Historic Tulsa School Pictures, Post Cards, Pictures and School Calendar images from the 1999 – 2000 Tulsa Public Schools Calendar; in vertical file Oklahoma, Tulsa County, Tulsa Public Schools.
  • The History of Tulsa by Colonel Clarence B. Douglas, 3 volumes, 1921. 976.6 D74 1921.
  • The History of Tulsa, Circulating Books, Videos and web sites compiled by Jennifer Young; a list. Vertical file envelope Oklahoma, Tulsa Books.
  • Jenks and Tulsa Street Names, Jenks Gazette May – June 1999; in vertical file Oklahoma, Jenks and Tulsa Street Names.
  • Lon Stansberry Document and Photo Collection CD titled Uncle Lon’s Estate Photos and Papers on Genealogy CD Rom Database computers. Includes historical articles and photos of Tulsa and Oklahoma.
  • Tulsa! Biography of the American City by Danny Goble. 976.686 G538t 1997.
  • Tulsa County Historic Sites Prepared by the Community Planning Division Indian Nations Council of Governments. July 1982. 917.6686.
  • Tulsa County Historical Sites , Tulsa World article, undated. In vertical file Oklahoma, Tulsa County Historical Sites.
  • Tulsa’s Magic Roots by Nina Lane Dunn. 976.686 D922t 1979.
  • Tulsa People, 100 Tulsans who Made a Difference, magazine article published Jan 1998; in vertical file, Oklahoma, Tulsa County History.
  • Tulsa Where the Streets were paved with Gold by Clyda R. Franks. (Images of America series.) 976.686 F855t 2000.

Genealogical Society

  • Tulsa Annals Official publication of the Tulsa Genealogical Society. Published quarterly. 1967- present.

Marriage Records

  • Marriage Books of Tulsa County, Books 1-30 (1907-1920) plus index. 929.376686 M349 2003.
  • Tulsa County Bride Groom Index 1907-1987 (microfiche) kept behind the reference desk.

Military

Research

  • Genealogical Research Material at the Gilcrease Museum Library. (Typed list, undated), in vertical file envelope Oklahoma: Assorted information pamphlets.

Schools

  • Early Day Families of Hillside Mission School, Skiatook, Ok; reunion September 12, 1976. Willis C. “Ted” Haddock; in vertical file Oklahoma, Tulsa County, Skiatook Early Day Families.
  • Historic Tulsa School Pictures, Post Cards, Pictures and School Calendar images from the 1999 – 2000 Tulsa Public Schools Calendar; in vertical file Oklahoma, Tulsa County, Tulsa Public Schools.
  • Loughridge, Rev. Robert and Presbyterian Mission School, in City in the Osage Hills, Tulsa Oklahoma by Courtney Ann and Glen Vaughn-Roberson. 976.686 V465c 1984

   State resources online

   

Local History Digital Collection

Broken Arrow Historical Society

The library at the Broken Arrow Genealogical Society contains resources on Oklahoma as well as other states, including an extensive Civil War collection, genealogy CDs, and microfilm of The Broken Arrow Ledger.

Oklahoma Historical Society

The Oklahoma Historical Society is located in Oklahoma City near the State Capitol building. Their Research Center houses resources pertaining to Oklahoma's history from before statehood to present, including books, vertical files, photographs, manuscripts, newspapers, maps, and audio collections of oral histories. The genealogy portion of their site provides a searchable online catalog of their holdings as well as lists of research guides and other helpful resources. The Dawes Final Rolls index is also available through this site.

A new addition to this site is the 1933 Unemployment Relief Census for 27 counties in Oklahoma, including Tulsa County. This database contains over 100, 000 names of Oklahomans who were unemployed and in need of relief aid. The descriptions include the person's name, race, age, address/nearest post office, marital status, number of dependence, occupation, and whether or not they were granted relief.

Tulsa County on USGenWeb

Find select obituary indexes, marriage records, and newspapers as well as listings of cemeteries, funeral homes, and schools on Tulsa County's OKGenWeb page. It also includes some resources on the history of the county.

Tulsa Genealogical Society

The Tulsa Genealogical Society, or TGS, is a non-profit society run by volunteers, who can help with research questions. They are open Monday, Wednesday, and Saturday from 10:00am-4:00pm and have monthly meetings and classes open to the public on the 3rd Monday from 6:00pm-9:00pm September through May (except in December). They also have other lectures and programs throughout the year.

Their website also contains the index for Tulsa Funeral Home  records.  The books are available at both Tulsa Genealogical Society Library and Tulsa Genealogy Center. 

Tulsa Historical Society

As a museum and a research facility, the Tulsa Historical Society has rotating and permanent exhibits as well as a collection of research materials highlighting Tulsa's history, including photographic prints and oral histories.

Oklahoma County Section Line Maps

The Planning and Research Division of the Oklahoma Department of Transportation has created a section line map of all the counties in Oklahoma. The link to each county provides you with a pdf highway map of that county.

Oklahoma Genealogy

Looking for ancestors in Oklahoma? Visit the Oklahoma Genealogy Resources site and discover the history, landscape, and people of Oklahoma as you learn about your Oklahoma heritage.