Skip to main content

Business: Starting a Business

Small Business Organizations

Offering assistance to small businesses and entrepreneurs:

TCCL Research Wizard

The TCCL Research Wizard, a fee based service, can supply the numbers and background information to inform, guide and support your marketing plan or business strategy.
Market Research Specialties
Research Wizard sources contain most of the information you need to make good marketing decisions. Some of the specialty areas include the following:

  • Local, state, and national demographic & economic data
  • Market statistics on production, consumption and sales
  • Current health of the market
  • Forecast for demand and projected trends
  • Identification of market leaders

Small Business Reference Center

Small Business Reference Center

This resource offers a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding.

Business videos provide critical information for business owners: interviews, ‘lessons learned’ features, lectures and ‘how to’ videos help foster success in all aspects of managing a business.

A collection of state-specific resources supports the researcher with demographic data and other local information.

Business Plans

Books
Search for Business Planning.

Library Database
Gale Virtual Reference Library - High-quality specialized encyclopedias and other reference sources once accessible only in the library are now available online from the library or remotely 24/7. Find books on starting a small business and business planning.  

Includes the Business Plans Handbook - a compilation of actual business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America. 

Web Sites
Reference for Business- Encyclopedia of Small Business – has the Business Plan Handbook available online.