Skip to main content

Government Documents: Floods & Flood Prevention

information and resource guides from Government Documents Department

Publications

Above the Flood: Elevating Your Floodprone House
Federal Emergency Management Agency, 2000.
Full text available online (pdf)

Answers to Questions About the National Flood Insurance Program
Federal Emergency Management Agency, 2011.
Full text available online (pdf)

Answers to Questions About Substantially Damaged Buildings
National Flood Insurance Program Community Assistance Series
Federal Emergency Management Agency, May 1991.
Full text available online (pdf)

Design Guidelines for Flood Damage Reduction

Federal Emergency Management Agency, December 1981.
Full text available online (pdf)

Directory of Tulsa Resources: Flood Protection
(Location: Tulsa Floods Vertical File)
City of Tulsa, Department of Public Works, 1999.

Disaster Public Information Catalog
(Location: Tulsa Floods Vertical File)
August 1995.

Elevated Residential Structures
Federal Emergency Management Agency, March 1984.
Full text available online (pdf)

From Harm's Way : flood-hazard mitigation in Tulsa, Oklahoma
City of Tulsa, December 1993.
Copies are available at some regional branches as well as Central Library.

From Rooftop to River : Tulsa's approach to floodplain and stormwater management
City of Tulsa, May 1994.
Copies are available at several TCCL branches as well as Central Library.

Guide to flood maps : how to use a flood map to determine flood risk for a property
Federal Emergency Management Agency, 2006.

Homeowner's Guide to Retrofitting : Six Ways to Protect Your House From Flooding
Federal Emergency Management Agency, June 1996.
Full-text available online

Managing Floodplain Development in Approximate Zone A Areas: A Guide for Obtaining and Developing Base (100-Year) Flood Elevations
(Online Access Only)
Federal Emergency Management Agency, July 1995.

Mandatory Purchase of Flood Insurance Guidelines
Federal Emergency Management Agency, September 2007.
Full-text available online

Planning for a Sustainable Future: The Link Between Hazard Mitigation and Livability
(Online Access Only)
Federal Emergency Management Agency, 2000.

Protecting Building Utilities from Flood Damage
(Online Access Only)
Federal Emergency Management Agency, 1998.

Protecting Floodplain Resources: A Guidebook for Communities
(Location: Tulsa Floods Vertical File)
Federal Interagency Floodplain Management Task Force, June 1996.
Full-text available online (pdf)

Protecting Manufactured Homes from Floods and Other Hazards
(Online Access Only)
Federal Emergency Management Agency, November 2009

Rebuilding for a More Sustainable Future: An Operational Framework
(Online Access Only)
Federal Emergency Management Agency, 2000.

Repairing Your Flooded Home
American Red Cross, 1992.
Full-text available online (pdf)

Reducing Losses in High Risk Flood Hazard Areas : A Guidebook for Local Officials
Federal Emergency Management Agency, February 1987.
Full-text available online (pdf)

Unified National Program for Floodplain Management
Federal Emergency Management Agency, May 1994.
Available online

Flood Maps

Additional Information