Skip to main content

Maps Collections in the Research Center: Geological Maps

1954 Geologic Map of Oklahoma

Research Center Geology, Oil, and Gas Collection

Tulsa is fortunate to have free access to a world-class geology research collection.  Few libraries in the nation can match the historical and current collections of Tulsa City-County Library.  Petroleum geologists and consulting engineers are surprised to discover the jewels in the library's extensive holdings.  Since many Oklahoma oil and gas companies also have operations outside the state, library resources cover not just Oklahoma, but most of the geology west of the Mississippi, as well as hot spots around the globe.

Types of resources include:

Maps

  • Printed map collection (more than 68,000 maps) that includes:
  • Geologic, topographic, hydrologic, oil, gas, mineral and other maps of select states
  • Oil, gas and mineral maps of the entire United States
  • Foreign geologic, oil, gas and mineral maps of all the major producing areas of the world
  • Geologic highway maps of all states

Indexes to Maps

Indexes to maps included within U.S. Geological Survey, individual state geologic society and Canadian publications.

Bulletins, Circulars, Investigations, Surveys, Papers, Guidebooks, Memoirs, Open-File Reports -- National, state and foreign literature on oil, gas and minerals includes publications of:

  • U.S. Geological Survey
  • Oklahoma Geological Survey
  • Geological Survey of Canada
  • U.S. Bureau of Mines (limited)
  • Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists
  • Texas University, Bureau of Economic Geology
  • Various other state geological surveys