Skip to main content

House, Building, And Neighborhood Histories In Tulsa: Neighborhoods

TULSA COUNTY CLERK

The Tulsa County Clerk is the recorder and custodian of land records and other real estate documents in the county. 

Land records are freely accessible in the Tulsa County Clerk's office. In the office, there are public access computers. On the public access computer desktops, there are links to the County Clerk Track Index folder, the Tulsa, OK Recorder database, and the Digital Reel database. The County Clerk Track Index folder is organized by subdivision. Here, you will find information on when a subdivision was platted and book and page and document numbers that you can use to find records in the other two databases. In the Tulsa, OK Recorder database, you can find content dating back to 1928. You can use the property's legal description to find post 1987 records. You can use book and page numbers to find pre 1987 records. Use the Digital Reel database for pre 1928 records.

You can print from the public access computers for $1.00 per page. 

The Tulsa County Clerk has placed the Historical Unplatted Tract Index, the Historical Platted Tract Index, and Tulsa County Plats online. 

Tulsa County Clerk  |  Tulsa County Administration Building, Room 120  |  500 S. Denver  |  Tulsa, OK 74103-3832  |  County Clerk Switchboard: (918) 596-5801  |  Fax: (918) 596-5819  |  Office hours:  8:30--5:00 Monday--Friday (excluding holidays)  

VERTICAL FILES

One of the unique resources in the Research Center's OK Room is the extensive vertical file collection. Vertical files contain newspaper and magazine articles, brochures, reports, and ephemera for businesses, organizations, homes, buildings, events, and people in the area.

Newspaper articles, covering topics of local and regional interest, were selectively chosen from Tulsa’s major metropolitan dailies of the twentieth century and deposited in subject-based vertical files. This is the only major index in Tulsa for the Tulsa Tribune and for the Tulsa World before 1989. For more information on newspaper and periodical articles, please see our Local History in the Research Center guide.

Vertical file titles can be searched in the online catalog. To limit your search to the vertical files in the new catalog, use advanced search. In the "use the form below to construct your query" section, use your keyword and the terms "vertical file." To limit your search to the vertical files in the old (legacy) catalog, use the advanced search. Enter your keyword in the "anywhere" field, and choose "vertical file" from the "material type" drop-down box.

Vertical file titles that might help with your neighborhood research include:

Neighborhoods

Parks

Schools

Churches

LOCAL PUBLICATIONS INDEX

The Local Publications Index provides a searchable online index to older Tulsa area publications housed at the Central Library. These publications include: The American Indian, Gusher, Magazine Tulsa, Tulsa Home & Garden, and Tulsa School Review. The documents in the index are not available online. You may access them by visiting the Research Center at Central Library, emailing us at askus@tulsalibrary.org, or calling 918-549-7323.

Depending on the neighborhood, you may find articles in local publications. 

MAPS AND ATLASES